2012 Election Candidates

The Elections for UCU General Secretary start in February 2012. Alongside the General Secretary, the position of Vice President (Further Education) and a range of positions on the NEC are being elected. One of the reasons why UCU has established itself as a campaigning union at the forefront of the battles to defend education has been the presence of elected lay activists from the left on the unions NEC.

Supporters of UCU Left are endorsing Mark Campbell’s candidacy for General Election and are also calling for a vote for the following candidates, more information will be uploaded about each candidate in the near future, with election flyers available online here.


Vice President FE

Angie McConnell, Wigan and Leigh College

Northern Ireland HE

Brian Kelly, Queens University Belfast

North East HE

Elizabeth Lawrence, Sheffield Hallam University
Gavin Reid, University of Leeds
Veronica Killen, Northumbria University

North East FE

Graham Mustin, Bransley College
Umit Yildiz, Bradford College

London and the East HE

Mark Campbell, London Metropolitan University
Jane Hardy, University of Hertfordshire
Jim Wolfreys, Kings College London

London and the East FE

Sean Vernell, City and Islington College
Mandy Brown, Lambeth College

Wales HE

Liza van Zyl, Cardiff University

North West FE

Darren Bradshaw, Blackpool and the Fylde College

UK-elected members HE

Jane Hardy, University of Hertfordshire
Jelena Timotijevic, University of Brighton
Lesley McGorrigan, University of Leeds

UK-elected members FE

Steven Boyce, A4E Prisons Branch
Richard McEwan, Tower Hamlets College
Jenny Sutton, College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London
Umit Yildiz, Bradford College

Representatives of women members HE

Marion Hersh, University of Glasgow

Representatives of women members FE

Alison Lord, Tower Hamlets College
Jenny Sutton, College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London

Seats for casually employed members FE

Regine Pilling, Westminster Kingsway College

UCU Trustee

Alan Whitaker, Oxford and Cherwell Valley College

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.